How To Set-up Google Photos Locked Folder ?

By Jayesh Shewale

Before beginning with the tutorial, it is important to note that the experience is currently limited to Google Pixel 3 and later models.

This will allow you to keep your media content hidden when someone looks at the photos and videos saved on Google Photos or any other app on your phone.

You can also move your existing pictures to the locked folder in Google Photos to protect them with your device's screen lock.

You can also move your existing pictures to the locked folder in Google Photos to protect them with your device's screen lock.

Before beginning with the tutorial, it is important to note that the experience is currently limited to Google Pixel 3 and later models.

So, if you have an eligible device, you can go ahead and follow the below steps to set up the Locked Folder feature on Google Photos to hide your pictures

Make sure that you have the latest version of Google Photos installed on your phone.

1. Open Google Photos. 2. Go to Library > Utilities and then tap Set up Locked Folder. 3. Google Photos will now show you a screen to detail the characteristics of the Locked Folder feature. Tap Set up Locked Folder to proceed. 4. Now, use your current device's screen lock option, which can either be fingerprint unlock, pattern, alphanumeric password, or numeric PIN to set up the locked folder.

Once these steps are followed successfully and the setup is completed, you can move your existing pictures and videos to the locked folder by tapping the Move items option.

After selecting pictures for moving to the locked photos, you will get a prompt with a message highlighting that the items moved will no longer be backed up or shared and will not appear in your Google Photos grid, search, and other apps. You can proceed with your selection by hitting Move.