Washington Football Team

The Washington Football Team is a professional American football team based in the Washington metropolitan area. Formerly known as the Washington Redskins, the team competes in the NFL as a member club of the NFC East division

Established July 9, 1932; 89 years ago

First season: 1932

Headquartered in Ashburn, Virginia

Washington Football Team

League/conference affiliations

National Football League (1932–present)

Eastern Division (1933–1949)

American Conference (1950–1952)

National Football Conference (1970–present)


Current Uniform

 Team Personnel

Owner(s)     -    Daniel Snyder

Chairman     -   Tanya Snyder

CEO           -      Jason Wright

Head coach     -    Ron Rivera

General manager  -  Martin Mayhew

Team nicknames

 The Burgundy and Gold

The 'Skins (as the Redskins)

 The Hogs (1980s offensive line)


League championships 

Conference championships

Division championships

NFL championships (pre-1970 AFL–NFL merger) (2)

NFC: 1972, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1991

NFL Eastern: 1936, 1937, 1940, 1942, 1943, 1945


Home Fields

– Braves Field (1932)

FedExField (1997–present)

Retired Numbers

Top 10 American Football Players in 2021 as per NFL.

Next Story